Well, if this year is like the past 2, this post is likely to be the only one I make this year, but I’m going to begin again anyway.  The reason why is that I’ve been mulling an idea for year-long blog that should be easy and fun and interesting to a couple of other fiberholics out there.

The Hats of Oberlin is that idea.

Every fall, but especially every Jan.-Feb. I walk around the campus of Oberlin College where I work, and marvel at the fibery inventiveness I see on the mostly young heads in front of me.  Watching the rich, saturated colors, the luxurious fibers, the wacky and beautiful constructions that emerge with the cold weather in northern Ohio are better than cake gazing in a bakery.  Or watching the weekly catwalks in a Project Runway show (way better).

Now that I have a cell phone with a reasonably reliable camera, I think I’m going to try to catch a few of them to share with the rest of the world. Meanwhile, here is my favorite hat du jour, worn by my buddy Ruby.

Ruby in a Ribba Cap, pattern by Wooly Wormhead